Writing… and what’s been going on lately…

Hello blog world. Have you missed me? I apologize for my absence, but I have definitely been struggling with a work-life balance the last couple months as I have been away for work so much. I haven’t been reading as many blogs as I would like, and haven’t been posting on my own blog much at all, and I miss it.

Writing…

I really like writing. I thought that maybe this was a new thing, since I started my blog, but after giving it a bit of thought, it turns out it isn’t…

As a kid, I would always write loads of stories. Or maybe I should say I would start writing loads of stories… I rarely would finish them because I always wanted to write some epic novel…

And then I also had a lot of penpals (remember when you sent things in the mail?) and would write them quite long letters pretty often. I have even kept a lot of my letters… I guess that will be a decluttering project someday…

My collection of letters and postcards…

As I think most teenagers, especially girls, might do… I would go thru phases where I would keep a journal or diary.

And when I was traveling abroad, I had a website that I would post stories on for my family to keep track of me… I guess that was a sort of blog, eh?  Who knew…

So apparently this writing thing isn’t a new thing… And I really do enjoy the creative outlet. So I’m going to try and put some more effort in making it a priority for me.

What’s been going on lately for me…

I think I was getting down or feeling blue because I hadn’t been reading blogs or writing, but in the last week of my most recent work site trip, I made a discovery that was probably long overdue and isn’t really all that surprising… I can listen to podcasts in my truck (not technically “my” truck… it’s a work truck that I use when at site)… And on the boat in to site…

The commute from where I was staying to the site was a 20 minute drive followed by a 20 minute boat ride…. So I could probably get one podcast listened to in the morning and one in the evening, depending on the length.

It has been great! It has helped me get that same mental stimulation that I get from reading blogs, but I can do it while driving and when I don’t have cell service or Internet. (Have I mentioned that this site is remote?)

Listening to all these podcasts has been so much fun.  I’ve been listening to some of the Lively Show, along with Mo’ Money.  I have some others that are downloaded on to my phone, but haven’t branched out yet… and to be honest… I’m home right now (temporarily – don’t get excited for me yet), and haven’t found a way to fit podcasts in to my every day life at home…  But I will…

The sun broke thru the clouds after a stormy day driving home from site.

So, that’s what’s up with me… How is November shaping up for everyone else?

4 thoughts on “Writing… and what’s been going on lately…

  1. I can definitely relate to your feelings of frustration about blogging more frequently. My twin babies have transitioned into toddlerdom which has made me so much busier than I used to be. I’ve also started listening to Podcasts recently, too! On average, I spend about two hours each day doing some sort of household chore – cleaning and cooking, so I’ve gotten into the habit of listening to This American Life. I’m making my way through old episodes as well as keeping up with new ones, and it is so much more stimulating than listening to music.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t even imagine what twin toddlers would be like. Crazy!

      Listening while doing chores isn’t a bad idea, but I don’t often do chores for that long of a stint… Though maybe I would if I had something to keep my mind occupied… I had heard of This American Life, but I haven’t listened to any. Maybe I’ll download some for my next trip to site!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. …it’s funny I read this post now – just scheduled a post with similar thoughts for tomorrow… I’d say we would have been great penfriends back in those days, I keep finding it funny to read about all those things we’ve got in common 🙂 Hopefully you’ll find a way to fit the podcasts while home! Maybe while crafting?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just read your post… And yes, I think we do seem to have quite a few things in common and probably would have been great penfriends back in the day. 🙂
      I did listen to some podcasts when I was doing laundry and other chores the other day, it seemed to work out quite well. Nobody else was home, so I just put my headphones in and went to work… I’m not sure it will be something that happens every time, but it worked out that day…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment