I’m Going for Another Half…

This post was supposed to be published yesterday… but life got in the way… 

While I was trying to come up with a post for today (which I was struggling with… again…) I decided to go over the goals that I made for the year and see which ones I hadn’t made any progress on lately, or hadn’t done any updates on…  I realized that so far this year, I have only run in 2 races, not the 5 races that I had as a target.  I did mention that in my last fitness update, but I didn’t actually do anything about it…

So, I took a look at the list of races that I put in my old bullet journal and realized that there aren’t really any races over the summer…  How am I going to make progress on my goal if there aren’t any races to run?  Well, I have decided that I am going to go big and sign up for another half marathon in the fall.  I have completed 4 half marathons in my lifetime, but I haven’t ever beat the 2 hour mark that I set as a goal last year.  If I train really hard and make that 2 hour goal in October, I have made a deal with myself to count that as two races towards my 5 total, so then I’ll only be looking for 1 more race to squeeze in.  But, if I don’t beat the 2 hour mark, then I have to find 2 more races before the end of the year.  Am I crazy?

fitness shoes

The Plan

If I am going to do this half marathon in 14 weeks, and do well at it, I better get training!  The race’s website has a “just-in-time” training plan that I took a look at… According to it, I should have been running 3-4 times already this week.  So far, I’ve been for 1 run this week… Anyway, I took that plan and made a bit of an edit to it so that I could take in to account my trips and plans… And then, of course, I put it in my bullet journal.

  • The “reg.” means a regular run – once of the routes that my running buddy and I would normally do.
  • “Easy” is for something short and sweet, just to keep myself moving, but with not much effort.
  • My running buddy and I occasionally do a short route where we go up and down a bunch of hills – this is what “hills” means.
  • “Strides” is a common thing in running apparently… I’ve never done it, but I’m going to give it a try…
  • The “Tempo” runs are to concentrate on increasing tempo, so you run at a slow pace to start, then for the middle period of time you increase your pace to your desired goal pace, then return to the slower pace for the final period of time.

What do you think of my plan?  I really hope that I stick with it this time… It’d be the first time I actually train properly for a half marathon.  Wish me luck!  

4 thoughts on “I’m Going for Another Half…

  1. Hi Jena — I’m a writer for Runner’s World magazine and am working on an article about creative bullet journals for runners. I came across your post and if you’re open to it, would love to include your journal/ask a few quick questions for my article. Could you please email me at jennifermccoy2013 (at) gmail (dot) com? Thank you in advance for considering!

    Best,
    Jenny

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Jenny! That would be awesome if you wanted to use my journal in your article. I will send you an email and you can let me know what sort of questions you have. I don’t promise to be very interesting, but hopefully I can help a little. Thanks so much!

      Like

    • Thanks Lisa! I was very honoured that they wanted to use my journal in their article. I am going to start training for a 10k soon, so I should probably make myself a new training schedule. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

