April 2016 Health & Fitness Update

Last week while I was trying to get back in to the swing of my normal life, I took a bit of time to go over some of the posts I did before I went away on our honeymoon.  It made me realize that there are lots of things that I need to update on the blog, and also lots of things that I should get working on so I can say I’ve made progress on my goals for 2016.

So, first on the list, I’ll get an update on my health & fitness goals.

5 Races in 2016 (Goal #10)

Last time we checked in was in February, and I had just signed up for my first race of 2016.  Which turned out to be a bit harder than I expected, but I was happy with my result given the circumstances.   As I mentioned last week, I signed up for my second race of 2016, a 10k race.  Of course, while on my honeymoon I did not train, so we (my running buddy and I) didn’t expect much of a good result, but we ran it anyway, and completed it in a time of 1:09:34.  All things considered, that’s a pretty good time for us.  It’s only a minute slower than last year.  I really have to give my running buddy all the credit for keeping us going.  I was so tempted to stop running and just walk, thinking that there was no way we’d be able to do very good without much training, but she kept us going and didn’t want to stop and somehow we managed to run the entire thing (minus walking while drinking at the 3 water stations).  So that race is done, and we will move on to the next one.  Two races done, three more to go.

Map My Run

I’m still tracking my fitness with the map my run app, which I’ve already admitted is a bit of a duplicate to my habit tracker in my bullet journal, but I enjoy looking at the break downs of my runs and seeing if my pace improves.

After my update in February, I didn’t really do too much exercise, so it almost looks identical to the calendar from February 17th.

February_2016_Map_My_Run

March was going really well until the week before we went away on our honeymoon… Then all fitness sort of stopped… And then I didn’t keep track at all during my honeymoon… so the end of March looks a little empty.  But, you can see that I started biking… (I’m not sure why the biking is such an angry red colour…)

March_2016_Map_My_Run

And now for April… As expected, for the first portion of the month (while away) the calendar is empty.  But I’m feeling pretty good about how quickly I’ve got back in to exercising regularly.  I’ve even biked to work a few times.

April_25_2016_Map_My_Run

1000 km in 2016 – probably not…

Do you remember that I briefly mentioned I signed up for a challenge to run 1000 km in 2016?  Yeah, that’s a big number… Especially when we are already almost 1/3 done 2016.  Currently I am sitting at a total of 120 km.  With about 250 days left, that leaves me with a requirement of running about 3.5 km per day or 25 km per week to meet the goal.  These numbers are totally doable occasionally, but since the challenge doesn’t include biking or soccer or any other type of fitness, I am pretty much positive I won’t make this goal.  The nice thing about it, is that I don’t have to keep track of anything, so I can check in on my status occasionally to see how I’m doing, but I’m not going to make it a priority.

1000km Status

$100 Biggest Loser Bet

What I am going to make a priority is winning $100!  My husband and I both felt quite… jiggly… heavy… plump… (take your pick) after we got back from our honeymoon, so we have put together a friendly bet: the person to lose the biggest percentage of weight by June 20th (not sure why we picked that date…) wins $100 to put in their “fun money” to do whatever they want with.  I’m already thinking of what I would do with the money if I won – buy a nice pen for my bullet journaling, get a pair of new sandals for the summer, or maybe a new cover for my iPad (the one I have is falling apart).  I know it’s not very “personal finance blogger” of me to be planning to spend money I don’t have yet, but so be it.  (I also realize that we aren’t really “winning” money that is already ours…)  Anyway, we aren’t very far in to it yet, but I’m not so sure I should be planning to spend the money… My husband may win… We weigh in on Monday mornings, and being the spreadsheet dork that I am, I have put together a graph of our progress to date:

WL_graph_1

So, you can see that at this moment, it is not looking good for me.  But I do want my husband to be successful at eating well and being healthy, so although I could attempt to sabotage him by giving him unhealthy foods… I think that might be a little low of me.

Do you have any health or fitness goals that you are working on currently?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “April 2016 Health & Fitness Update

  1. I am pretty jealous of your health and fitness goals! I haven’t been running due to a foot injury from October 2014 (!) that is still bothering me. Fortunately I have an appointment with a physiotherapist tonight and I’m hoping they can set me right. I might have to buy new shoes too but I’m fine with that because I miss running so much.

    To compensate for my lack of running, I’ve been riding my bike as much as possible. Anytime I have to go anywhere, I hope on my bike instead of driving. Since I work from home, I don’t commute daily but I’ve racked up about 15 trips so far in April.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh no! That sucks about your foot injury. Hopefully the physio will be able to help… My foot is sore today… I think it is from soccer last night… but I’m sure it’ll be fine by tomorrow.

      Biking is such a great way to get around. I really want to get in to a habit of commuting daily on my bike, but it just takes a bit more organization on my part for me to get my errands and things done on the weekends… It sounds like you’ve got the biking thing down pretty good. And isn’t Halifax pretty hilly?

      Like

Leave a comment